DVH Eval for plan sum

Feb 28, 2014 at 2:53 PM
Hello,

I am not a programmer by any means, but can dabble with rudimentary scripts.
I use Eclipse v11.

I would like to have a script that evaluates DVHs for predetermined structures for a plan-sum and presents the user with a window showing if predetermined criteria have been met. We can do this in Eclipse directly using Plan Objectives for single plans, but cannot do this with plan-sums. Many of our final patient plans are a composite of more than one plan.

As an example:
Structure Name: B-Wall
Criteria: The volume of B-Wall receiving 47Gy must be less than 53% of the structure volume. To put this conversely, 53% of the B-Wall volume must receive less than or equal to 47Gy.
Indicator of Pass/Fail or, better yet, also show the volume of B-Wall at 47Gy.

Structure Name: PTV1
Criteria: 95% of the PTV1 volume must be => 76.95Gy
Indicator of Pass/Fail and show vol of PTV1 at 76.95Gy.

Is there a code snippet available for a Plan Sum object that would show me (a relative novice) how to do this so I can build from that for all the other structures and criterial that we evaluate? If I can create this script, it would save our dosimetrists a great deal of time.

Thanks!
Gregg
Coordinator
Mar 1, 2014 at 12:28 AM
Edited Mar 3, 2014 at 9:49 PM
I have uploaded a new project PlanQualityMetrics that you could use as a start for generating the kind of report you need for both plans and plansums.

Download a sample report.

Regarding your question about PlanSums, see specifically file DvhExtensions.cs, this file extends ESAPI to add the convenience methods GetDoseAtVolume and GetVolumeAtDose to the PlanningItem class, which is the base class for both PlanSetup and PlanSum.