images registration

Apr 17, 2015 at 2:10 PM
Dear everyone,
I'm an engineer and i have the pleasure to work with ESAPI (v.13).

i'm in the preliminar phase of a research project and i need to:

i. extract the different volumetric images of a given patient (CT, MR, dose distribution...), which have different FOR;

ii. make all the images overlappable.

I did i) using the example present on the forum which allows to create a .vtk file for each image. It works very well.

I have to do the point ii).

My goal is to extract from the system a series of matrices (one for each volumetric image), in which every point describes the same point in the space.

In other words i would like that in each .vtk file (or matrix), the point in position [10,10] referes to the same 3D coordinates.
Do you think that is possible to do that utilizing the registration methods or i have to build data structures ad hoc and operate on them?

Im' trying right now to do it manually (using only TransormPoint), but it's a long way to go. Especially in terms of computational time.
And i'm not sure the result will be satisfying.

Thank you in advance.
Matteo
Apr 17, 2015 at 2:29 PM
...or, much more easily, is it possible to extract the data from the image already registered?
Developer
Apr 17, 2015 at 7:15 PM
If you wanna do image registration, here are my points:
  1. first things first, I cannot find the resampled image in Eclipse, so probably you need to do this part manually (can others point out a way?)
  2. if you only need rigid registration, the matrix(cies) can be found in the registration dicom object (refer to dicom). With those in hand, you can use your favorite registration modules (ITK, VTK) to do the rest.
Coordinator
Apr 17, 2015 at 9:09 PM
Edited Apr 17, 2015 at 9:09 PM
You could resample the image volume using the 'profiles' features of the API. This works the same way for dose and image volumes. See exercise3 from the Developer Workshop 2.0 for a hint on how you might do this.